Champion of AIU’s North Zone Inter University Basketball (W) Tournament- 2013 is on the verge of Declaration at LPU

*Defeating rival teams, KU Kurukshetra, Panjabi University Patiala, GNDU Amritsar and Punjab University Chandigarh qualified to enter League Matches
*Olympian Dr Tarlok Singh Sandhu is AIU Observer for the tournament
*So far 31matches have been played from 4 Pools 

Jalandhar:  Third day of Association of Indian Universities' North Zone Inter-university Basketball (Women) Tournament -2013 chalked out smooth way, for would-be Zonal Champion of the year at Lovely Professional University. In all, six matches (4 Qualifying and 2 League) were played on the third day. KU Kurukshetra, Panjabi University Patiala, GNDU Amritsar and Punjab University Chandigarh displayed supremacy in their respective pools, and qualified to enter League Matches.  So far 31 matches have been played from 4 Pools.
On the final day, i.e. 23rd October, four ‘League Matches’ will be played between (i) Winner of Pool A and Winner of Pool D; (ii) Winner of Pool B and Winner of Pool C; (iii) Winner of Pool A and Winner of Pool B; and, (iv) Winner of Pool C and Winner of Pool D.  These final matches will be decisive to crown the champion.
Feeling very satisfied on near culmination of the zonal championship, AIU Observer Olympian Dr Tarlok Singh Sandhu revealed his happiness on the smooth conduction of the Championship. Forwarding a great message to the players to channelise their energy, he asked more and more universities of the zone to participate in such tournaments. He expressed that the playing of the "perimeter players", and "post players” of many of the teams is observed as classic. Passing to team-mates while the passers quickly cut toward the baskets, and received the return pass back from team-mates for the lay-up are also adorable.
In the qualifying matches of their respective pools four teams went ahead: KU Kurukshetra defeated JMI Delhi in Pool A by 55/20, In Pool B Panjabi University Patiala defeated MDU Rohtak by 51/37, GNDU Amritsar defeated LPU Phagwara in Pool C by 57/35, and In Pool D Punjab University Chandigarh defeated University of Delhi by 53/41.
Further two League Matches were also played in the evening between Winner of Pool A- Kurukshetra University & Winner of Pool C- GNDU Amritsar; and, Winner of Pool B- Panjabi University Patiala and Winner of Pool D- Punjab University Chandigarh.